download (2)

This was my second time reading Rowell’s novel Fangirl, and I honestly loved it.

Now, I’m the type of person who is actually capable of rereading books, but to be completely honest I didn’t really remember Fangirl anyway; all I remembered was that the main character was obsessed with a book/movie series that wasn’t Harry Potter but was kind of Harry Potter… if Harry Potter was modern and kind of muddled and weird.

Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.

The biggest appeal for me personally was just how much I identified with Cath, the protagonist. First, she’s an obsessive fan of a fictional magical world and a young teenage boy/man who has lots of issues. Second, she writes fanfiction- actually, just that she writes. I write. I’m writing now. Third, she is massively socially awkward and says massively stupid things and has massively huge problems making friends.

“Just… isn’t giving up allowed sometimes? Isn’t it okay to say, ‘This really hurts, so I’m going to stop trying’?”
“It sets a dangerous precedent.”
“For avoiding pain?”
“For avoiding life.”

Beyond my individual connection to this slightly pathetic teenager, Rowell is a fantastic writer. Character development is incredible, the romantic relationships- actually, just the relationships is general- are unique and interesting, and best of all? It’s realistic. Really realistic. I genuinely enjoy Rowell’s books.

Okay, so I attemped to read Carry On and absolutely shated it, but that’s a strange fanfiction about a series that literally does not exist and makes me uncomfortable.

But besides that, I loved Eleanor & Park and I loved FangirlBoth are books that I would suggest to just about anyone who reads.

❤ Dy

Leave a comment